Accomplished Upper Mt Gravatt Detective Awarded the Australian Police Medal

Upper Mt Gravatt Detective Australian Police Medal
Photo Credit: QueenslandPoliceService

Congratulations to Detective Sergeant Katrina Carr for being one of 12 recipients from the QLD Police Service of the Australian Police Medal for 2023. Det Sgt Carr rose through the ranks at the Upper Mount Gravatt Police Station.

Ms Carr was designated in Upper Mount Gravatt in 1994 and proved a competent investigator. As a medal awardee, Ms Carr’s contribution to policing has been an astonishing accomplishment.

She is currently the Education and Training Officer at the Queensland Police Academy, where she’s committed to developing and delivering training on trauma informed responses to sexual assaults and domestic violence to detectives.

The esteemed policewoman is also a volunteer for TREK2HEALTH, a not-for-profit organisation committed to providing support for veterans and first responders to maintain their physical and mental health.

Local Resources

This year’s Australian Police Medal awardees have a range of backgrounds with diverse experience, having served throughout Queensland in several roles and areas. They were recognised for their leadership, innovation and initiative. 

Tower Ad
Australian Police Medals
Photo Credit: Queensland Police Service/Facebook

“Each officer has their own story – often comprised of the challenges they’ve faced and overcome through their career, but also the rewarding memories about the role they’ve played in their communities and the lives of everyday Queenslanders,” Police Commissioner Katarina Carroll said.

“I am incredibly proud to know and understand the impact these officers have in shaping a positive future for individuals they interact with, the communities they serve and our organisation.

“I congratulate them for receiving this significant honour today.

“We don’t join the Service for any accolades, but each of these officers is deserving of this recognition for the work they’ve done across the span of their careers,” the commissioner added.

“The recipients are dedicated officers of the QPS who are committed to keeping Queenslanders safe. I congratulate and thank each and every one of them.”