Big Congratulations to Wishart State School! 2022 AST School of Excellence Award Recipient

Congratulations to Wishart State School for bagging the 2022 Active School Travel’s School of Excellence award! The school was recognised for making significant improvements to active travel in their community.

The Active School Travel (AST) program is an initiative of Brisbane City Council to encourage students, parents, carers and teachers to leave the car at home and actively travel to school. The program offers schools free resources, tools and incentives.

Each year, AST recognises schools that showed fantastic outcomes and changes through the program.

This 2022, Craigslea State School in Chermside West took home the School of the Year award with Wishart State School being honoured a well with a School of Excellence award for having the highest percentage of active travel in large schools.

Meanwhile, the Greatest increase of active travel in large schools award went to St Anthony’s School, Kedron whilst the Greatest increase of active travel in small schools recognition was awarded to Seven Hills State School. Lastly, the Highest percentage of active travel in small schools award went to Junction Park State School.

Current AST schools that Council is working with for over three years include:

Commencing 2023

  • Inala State School
  • Kenmore South State School
  • Murarrie State School
  • Salisbury State School
  • St Joseph’s School, Nundah
  • Sunnybank Hills State School
  • Upper Mt Gravatt State School

Commenced 2022

  • Aspley East State School
  • Aspley State School
  • Brisbane Central State School
  • Craigslea State School, Chermside West
  • Greenslopes State School
  • Grovely State School, Keperra
  • Holy Family School, Indooroopilly
  • Manly State School
  • Milton State School
  • Morningside State School
  • New Farm State School
  • Our Lady of the Assumption, Enoggera
  • Wondall Heights State School, Manly West